All of your contacts are housed in lists. In this section we'll cover how to get the most out of your lists.


Click Contacts > Lists to access the list management area.


Here you can:

  • Create a new list.
  • Use list groups to organise your lists into specific categories.
  • Edit the details of an existing list.
  • Delete an existing list.

Clicking the name of a list brings up a summary in the preview panel. The summary shows list properties, quick links, basic subscriber statistics, and list settings.


The Properties tab contains the email and SMS report summaries. These help you to determine the health of your list.


TotalThe total number of contacts in the list.
ActiveThe number of contacts who are subscribed to the list and actively receiving email or SMS communications.
UnsubscribedThe number of contacts who have unsubscribed from the list and don't receive any communications.
BouncedThe number of contacts who have exceeded the bounce setting threshold and, as a result, don't receive any email communications.

More Tab

The More tab contains address and contact details for the list owner. To edit these details, check the checkbox next to the list name and click Edit.


There are two buttons in the preview panel:

  • Contacts: View existing contacts subscribed to the list.
  • Reports: View detailed reporting for the list.


Basic list properties are essential if the list administrator wants to receive notifications. Options include being notified when a contact subscribes, and providing a field for a reason when a contact unsubscribes. The following list properties are available:

  • Public list: We suggest keeping the list privacy settings on the default setting (private). Please contact us should you require further information.
  • Get notified when a contact subscribes: You'll receive an email each time a contact subscribes to your list.
  • Get notified when a contact unsubscribes: You'll receive an email when a contact unsubscribes.
  • Contacts will receive a message confirming the unsubscribe: Let your contact know whether unsubscribing will take place immediately or whether they can expect additional emails.
  • Contacts can provide a reason for unsubscribing: This is helpful as it can assist you in refining your communications to make them more relevant.
  • Custom unsubscribe URL: Include a URL that will redirect unsubscribed contacts to a 'Thank you' page hosted on your website.

Create a List

There are two ways to create a list:

  1. Import a list: For more information, see our tutorial on Importing contacts.
  2. Embed a subscription form in a website or newsletter: For more information, see our tutorial on creating Subscription forms.

Once you've created a list, it will be visible in the table on the list screen.

Edit a List

To edit a list, check the checkbox next to the list's name in the table, then click Edit in the top menu bar.

Properties Tab

NameChange the internal name of the list. This is only visible to people in your organisation.
Public NameChange the name of the list that is visible to the public.
List GroupUse the drop-down selector to assign the list to a list group.
Owner NameChange the list owner's name
Owner EmailChange the list owner's email address.
Owner Reply EmailChange the list owner's reply-to email address. This is the address that subscribers' reply emails are sent to.
SettingsChange the basic notification and unsubscribe settings.

More Tab

In this tab you can enter contact details for the list owner, such as the business address and phone numbers.

Delete a List

If you need to delete a list, check the checkbox next to the list's name and click Delete. You will be asked to confirm the deletion of the list. If you click Yes the list will be permanently deleted. You can only delete one list at a time.


Reports give you detailed statistics regarding the contacts on your list. Click Reports to view the detailed reports for a specific list.


List Reports

These are the different reports you can pull about your contacts.

Email Summary: A summary of contacts who have given you their email address. Lists the number of contacts, how many of them are active, the number of unsubscribes, unconfirmed, bounced and off.

Mobile Summary: A summary of contacts who have given you their mobile number. Lists the same details as email summary.

Message Activity: Lists the messages sent to the list, the subject of the message, and a summary of sent, unique opens, unique clicks, forwards, unsubscribes, complaints and bounces. You can also export the message summary as a .CSV file.

Open and Link Activity: Displays the total number of opens, average opens, total clicks, and average clicks.

Domain Reports: The number of domains used to open your email, including a list of the domains, active contacts using each domain, number of sends to the domain, opens within the domain, and bounces from the domain.

Location Reports: Shows the areas where the the messages have been opened. Includes the Top 5 Countries and Top 5 Cities.

Subscription Activity: A report on the number of subscribes/unsubscribes the list has received.

Contact Activity: The number of active and inactive contacts in the list.

Social Summary: A summary of messages opened across social media platforms: Facebook, Twitter, and LinkedIn.


Clicking this button reveals more options:

Merge List: Joins a selected list into another. This list will be deleted and contacts moved to the newly selected list.

Empty List: Removes the contacts from the list but keeps the list name and properties. Should the contacts exist in another list, they will remain in that list. If they do not exist in any other list, the contacts will be deleted from the system entirely.

Translate »